NJ Surcharge: A surcharge is a kind of penalty or fine that is being charged by the New Jersey Violation System (NJSVS) on an annual basis. The fine is naturally charged on the drivers who have their driving record with a huge number of points of a traffic violation. In addition to this, the drivers responsible for violations may be convicted for breaking traffic rules like Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), etc. Fines like these are only part of other penalties or fines that are charged by the court.
If you are caught up with NJSVS fines, you can pay them easily via the online system. In this article, you are going to learn how to pay the New Jersey surcharge bills online through their official website. Before learning about how to pay the penalties online, you have to know about multiple causes for which you can be surcharged.
How is the NJ Surcharge Levied?
Usually, whenever you break any traffic rule you get a traffic ticket. The system says that each traffic ticket has some points which are added to the driving license.
Let’s say you have six points within your driving license within three years or less, then you will be charged with a $100 fine.
This charge is levied for three consecutive years annually. Besides this, you will be charged an extra $25 for every point.
If there are any more violations in addition, then you will be surcharged as below:
- If your driving license is expired or you don’t have a license to drive at all, $100 will be levied as a fine. This brings the total NJ surcharge amount to $300.
- In case if you are driving with a suspended driving license, then you are liable to pay $250 as a fine. this brings the total NJ surcharge to $750.
- You will be charged with a fine of $1000 for first and second violations of the Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) rule. This brings the total NJ surcharge to $3000.
- The third violation of the Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) rule costs you a fine of $1500, which brings the total NJ surcharge to $4500.
If you refuse to undergo an alcohol test, then you will be charged $1000, which brings the final surcharge amount to be $3000.
What Happens After The Non-Payment of The NJ Surcharge?
If you fail to pay, the non-payment of the surcharge and ignorance of the notice leads to suspension of your driving license. A suspension order will be released against you, after which you are not allowed to drive. If you ignore the order and continue driving after the suspension order, then you are in violation of a serious motor vehicle rule. This leads to additional fines and penalties.
If you do not pay the surcharge after issuing the suspension order, a certificate of debt will be issued in your name in the Superior Court. This document will allow the state to collect the amount of fine without your approval. It also includes the collection costs as well as the interest on the unpaid penalties.
Your name and other details will be reported as to lead the credit bureaus. The collection firms and the state maintain the collaboration for collecting the unpaid amount.
How to Pay NJ Surcharge?
Four Ways to Pay NJ Surcharge:
- First and foremost, you will receive a billing notice which contains the payment envelope. You can proceed to pay through a cheque or a money order. If there is no payment envelope included, then you can send the cheque or money order to the following address:
“NJSVS, P.O. Box no. 1502, Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704”
- There is another way of paying the fines online – through debit and credit cards. All major categories of debit and credit cards work for payment here. However, some banks may charge 2% to 3% as a processing fee for providing this service. The online payment can be made on the official website of NJSVS.
- Another way to the surcharge amount is by calling their toll-free number: (844) 424-6829, the payment can be done in debit or credit cards.
- You can also pay the surcharge in cash by depositing at the Western Union Location in New Jersey or nationwide.
- The payment details are available on the bill. If you need any further details, you can dial the toll-free number mentioned above. You can get access to your account and obtain the required information.
Restrictions in NJ Surcharge
Although if you move out of New Jersey, then you have to the amount of surcharge due to you. With this, you are also liable for giving the NJ driving license back and get a new license issued for the new area.
In case your license is suspended, then you are reported to the National Driver Registry. Thus, the new state will issue the license only after the completion of the suspension period and after you have cleared all the charges.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How do I pay my NJ surcharge online?
Use this site to check your Surcharge Record and to make a Surcharge Payment – https://www1.state.nj.us/TYTR_NJAISC_Web/ .
Contact Information: Toll-Free Customer Service Center is 844-424-6829 (Between 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM – Monday to Friday)
How can I find out if my license is suspended in NJ?
Call the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission at 609-292-6500 or 1-888-486-3339. Once you have someone online, you can request your driver history summary.
How much is a surcharge fee in NJ?
First and second violations – the surcharge will be $1000 a year for three years. For a third or subsequent violation that occurs within three years of the first violation, a surcharge of $1500 for three years will be imposed.
How do I check my NJ surcharge?
In order to check the status of your driving privileges or pay the reinstatement fee, you have to visit texas.gov. You will be needing your DL/ID/ number, date of birth and the last four digits of your social security number.
What is an insurance NJ Surcharge?
The New Jersey Surcharge is a program used by New Jersey to charge additional fees through the Department of Motor Vehicles that are typically two or three times the amount of traffic violation in addition to the original ticket in order to provide additional money to the state budget.
How Long Does a surcharge last in NJ?
3 Years – That’s the time period where the surcharges are last. These surcharges are imposed in addition to judicial fines and penalties are billed for a maximum time of three years. Every time you are convicted of a one-time offence or after other serious events occur, your driving record is reviewed.
How Do I Reinstate My Suspended License in NJ Surcharge?
In order to reinstate your driving license or registration after it was suspended for having excessive points, you will have to follow the same steps as if you were caught driving without insurance. Pay all the NJ Surcharge associates fines, complete the period suspension and then, go on submitting the license reinstatement fee to the New Jersey SVM.
To reinstate your licence or registration after it has been suspended for excessive points, you will need to follow the same steps as if you were caught driving without insurance. Pay all associated fines, complete the period of suspension and submit your licence reinstatement fee to the New Jersey SVM.